The batsman should be given out if the ball hits the stumps: Chahal
MUMBAI: Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal fully agrees with former cricketer and now commentator Sanjay Manjrekar’s contention that a batsman should be given out even if the ball hits the stumps and the bails are on but it does not fall. needed.
Such a situation had come in the last match of Rajasthan Royals played against Delhi Capitals, when David Warner was hit by the leg break on the last ball of Chahal’s first over and the ball hit the stumps directly. However, the bails did not fall and Warner played an innings of 52 runs. At the time when this incident happened, Warner was playing on a personal score of 22 runs.
Discussing this issue with ESPNcricinfo on Thursday, Chahal said, “Since this happened to me for the first time, I was also surprised to see that the bails did not fall even after the ball hit the stumps. If such things happen at a critical juncture of the match, that too when a batsman like Warner is in front, who himself does not give much chances. Had he been out, surely the outcome of the match could have been different. The plan worked, Chahal and Sanju Samson also started celebrating but soon they were forced to stop their celebration. Match officials use the LED stumps technique in three positions, bowled, run out and stump out. According to the current rules, it is necessary for the bails to fall from the stumps for a batsman to be declared out. Although the LED lights up only when both spigots on one or both bails move out of the groove, they can also sit back on the stumps. Something similar happened on Wednesday, the left gilli came out of the groove of the stumps, the light was on for a few moments but she sat back.