Team India’s boom in ICC Awards, after Suryakumar Yadav, Renuka Singh also honored



The ICC is honoring the best performing players of the last year. India’s explosive batsman Suryakumar Yadav was chosen as the Men’s T20 Cricketer of the Year for 2022. In the women’s section, India’s star fast bowler Renuka Singh was successful in winning the ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year award. She is the first woman cricketer from India to win this award.

Renuka Singh’s 40 wickets in 2022
The 26-year-old Renuka beat Australia’s Darcy Brown, England’s Ellyse Capse and compatriot Yastika Bhatia to win the ‘Emerging Player’ award. Renuka took 40 wickets in just 29 matches in both the white-ball formats in 2022 and tried to fill the void left by legendary cricketer Jhulan Goswami. Renuka was outstanding in the ODIs, taking 18 wickets, eight of which came in two matches against England, while seven came during India’s series against Sri Lanka.

Renuka took eight wickets in seven T20 Internationals against Australia while troubling their batting unit. Along with this, the performance of Commonwealth Games and Asia Cup also made headlines. He took 17 wickets in 11 matches. For this reason he has been given this award.

Jansen was awarded in the male category.
In the male category, South African fast bowler Marco Jansen received the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award. Last year, Jansen scored 234 runs in Tests, taking 36 wickets at an average of 19. He beat Arshdeep Singh of India, Ibrahim Zadran of Afghanistan and Finn Allen of New Zealand to win the award. Rishabh Pant was the last player to win the Emerging Male Cricketer of the Year award. He won this honor in 2018.

Comments are closed.