Uproar over Vande Mataram in swearing in Meerut, 3 leaders including 2 BJP councilors arrested


Meerut. BJP corporators thrashed AIMIM corporators for not singing Vande Mataram at the swearing-in ceremony of mayor and corporators. Police arrested two councilors and a former BJP councilor on the Tahrir of AIMIM councillors. Later, the accused councilors were granted bail from the police station. BJP corporators have also given Tahrir against AIMIM corporators accusing them of insulting Vande Mataram.

The swearing-in ceremony of the mayor and councilors of the Municipal Corporation took place on Friday at Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Auditorium of Chaudhary Charan Singh University. During this, AIMIM councilors kept sitting during the singing of Vande Mataram. Calling it an insult to Vande Mataram, the BJP corporators created ruckus and assaulted the AIMIM corporators. Its video is also going viral on the internet media.

District Magistrate Deepak Meena and SP City Piyush Kumar somehow handled the matter. After this, four councilors of AIMIM walked out without taking oath. After this incident, councilors of AIMIM, Muslim League and Azad Samaj Party filed a complaint alleging assault on BJP councilors at the medical station. In this, a case of attempt to murder and assault was registered against three named and 15 unknown people.

Taking action, the police arrested BJP corporator Rajeev Gupta Kale, Uttam Saini and former corporator Anshul Gupta, accused of assault. After this all the three leaders were released from the police station on bail. BJP councilors have also given Tahrir in the medical station accusing AIMIM councilors of insulting Vande Matarat.

BJP’s metropolitan president Mukesh Singhal says that some councilors kept sitting during Vande Mataram. When BJP leaders opposed this, they were threatened with death. We will get our councilors bailed.

AIMIM Metropolitan President Imran Ansari said that four councilors of AIMIM, Fazal Karim from Ward 71, Tahir from Ward 82, Sahid from Ward 72 and Guddi from Ward 81, Rizwan Ansari from Ward 73 of Muslim League have not been sworn in. On Saturday, the five councilors will take oath in the Municipal Corporation.

Comments are closed.