Women’s Premier League 5 teams sold for Rs 4670 crore, bid breaks Men’s IPL opening season record – Samkaleen


January 25, 2023 is a historic day in cricket as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) broke the record set by the inaugural season of the men’s IPL (Indian Premier League) in 2008 for the women’s T20 league. Women’s Premier League 5 Teams Rs. 4669.99 crore (approx. Rs. 4670 crore) was sold. These five teams will be from Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi and Lucknow. BCCI Secretary Jai Shah gave this information in a series of tweets in this regard.

In the year 2008, 8 teams of IPL (for the next 10 years) were sold for 723.59 million dollars (about 5905 crore Indian rupees). However, in 2008, one US dollar was worth about 44 rupees in Indian rupees. Accordingly in 2008 the 8 teams of men’s IPL were sold for around Rs 3185 crores.

Jay Shah tweeted, ‘Today is a historic day in cricket as the teams bidding for the inaugural season of the WPL won the inaugural season of the Men’s IPL in 2008. Congratulations to the winners. We fetched Rs 4669.99 crore in total bids. This marks the beginning of a revolution in women’s cricket.

Here are the auction winners

In another tweet, Jai Shah wrote, ‘This paves the way for a transformative journey not only for our women cricketers but for the entire sports community. The Women’s Premier League will bring much-needed reforms to women’s cricket and ensure a holistic ecosystem that benefits all stakeholders. BCCI has named this league Women’s Premier League. The journey has begun….

Adani Group to buy Women’s Premier League team (for 10 years) for Rs. 1289 crore was the highest bid. Apart from this, Mumbai Indians bid 912.99 crore, Royal Challengers Bangalore 901 crore, Delhi Capitals 810 crore and Capri bid 757 crore.

Comments are closed.