WhatsApp Group Chat Features: Meta-owned social media platform WhatsApp has announced the rollout of four new features and updates for group chats. The company claims that the new features will allow new members joining groups to participate in ongoing conversations. This eliminates the need for members who are already participating in the group to start a chat from scratch. This instant messaging platform now offers the facility to share message history with new members who join the group. Additionally, users can now ‘pin’ messages in group chats for longer periods of time.
Facility to pin chat permanently
In a blog post shared on Thursday, the instant messaging platform announced that WhatsApp will bring four new features to group chats. These features will help users pick up the chat from where they left off. Under the new update, the company will now allow users to permanently pin important messages. Currently, WhatsApp users can pin any group chat for a maximum of 24 hours, seven days and 30 days. After adding the new feature, users will be able to permanently pin messages in WhatsApp group chats. (Photo Courtesy: Pinterest)
New group members will get message history
WhatsApp has also announced the release of a feature for new group members. WhatsApp has announced a feature that will allow new members to view their previous message history after joining a group chat. So that they don’t have to repeat the topic that is going on in the group chat. Group admins and managers will be able to share recent messages by tapping on the names of members who have joined the group. These messages are going to be end-to-end encrypted. Earlier, WhatsApp group admins only allowed new members to share message history while joining the group. But due to the new feature, now there will be an option to share history with such members too, whom the group admins and managers had forgotten to share history in the beginning.
Facility to filter messages
Users will now be able to filter message mentions in group chats. When this filter is applied, all messages in which that user is tagged will be highlighted in the chat window.
Group status sharing facility
Now users will get facility to share group status with group members. This status will be shared only with the specific group chats for which it is posted.