WhatsApp users beware! Your account may be closed suddenly, testing of new security feature begins

Technology Desk: If you are running WhatsApp on old Android or iPhone, then this news is important for you. WhatsApp is reportedly testing a new security feature that can block access to WhatsApp in phones with older operating systems.

According to reports, some select users are seeing the message to update the phone's software before opening or logging in to WhatsApp. That is, if a new system update is available in your phone and you have not installed it, then you may have to update the phone before using WhatsApp.

Will you have to update your phone first to run WhatsApp?

According to a report by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is showing new screens for some Android and iOS users. In this, users are being asked to install the latest available software update of their phone before using WhatsApp.

On this screen it can also be told how to check the current software version of the phone.

The special thing is that according to the report, affected users will not have the option to skip this update and log in to WhatsApp directly.

Feature can be seen even without downloading the new update

A special feature of this change is that it is being implemented through a server-side update. This means that it is not necessary for the user to download a new update of WhatsApp for the feature to appear.

However, this feature is not yet implemented for all users. Currently it is being tested on a limited number of accounts on Android and iOS.

WhatsApp has not yet clarified on which Android and iOS versions the login will be blocked.

After all, why is WhatsApp doing this?

New security patches and necessary security updates are not available in older operating systems. In such a situation, phones running on old software may be more at risk from cyber attacks.

For this reason, WhatsApp is encouraging users to keep their phone's software updated. The company's objective is said to be to increase account security and reduce the potential security risks associated with outdated software.

Unofficial WhatsApp Web users will also get alerts

WhatsApp is not just making changes to the old software. The company is also reportedly testing a security warning for users who connect their WhatsApp accounts to the unofficial WhatsApp Web client.

This warning may appear in the Linked Devices section. In this, users can be advised to use the official WhatsApp client.

Third-party WhatsApp Web clients can connect to WhatsApp accounts, but they are not developed or officially supported by WhatsApp.

There is no need for all users to panic right now

At present this feature is said to be limited to testing. Users who do not see any such warning on WhatsApp can use the app as before.

It is not yet clear on which specific Android or iOS versions WhatsApp will implement this rule and when will it be rolled out for all users.

So if software update is available in your phone, it would be better to keep the phone updated instead of ignoring it.

Leave a Comment